Ok to use step-down rings with a CPOL filter?

djwalker575

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Apologies in advance if this is a silly question, I'm rather new to filters.

I make my living as a videographer, shooting on a Canon 60D. I also do a fair amount of photo shooting for my clients. I need a ND filter to be able to shoot in fairly well lit environments with a very shallow depth of field (f1.4 is ideal).

I do, however, really like the look that a good circular polarizer gives to images, and in researching them I found that they also can act as a ND filter and can give up to two stops of brightness control. Only thing is, I shoot most of my stuff with either a Canon 50mm f1.4 (58mm filter size) or a Canon 70-200mm f2.8L lens (77mm filter size).

I've heard of step-down rings that allow filters to be used on different size lenses, is this an option here? Or would it just be weird/bad to be using a 77mm filter on a 58mm lens with step-down rings? It would be pretty nice not to have to buy multiples of the same filter just to accomodate the two lenses.

You bet!

Many people buy just one large size, high quality, multi-coated CPL or ND filter(s) and an assortment of step rings to use that large filet on smaller filter thread lenses.

To use a 77 mm on lens having 55 mm filter threads you would use a step-down ring.

Heliopan 145 Adapter Ring 77/58

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
You bet!

Many people buy just one large size, high quality, multi-coated CPL or ND filter(s) and an assortment of step rings to use that large filet on smaller filter thread lenses.

To use a 77 mm on lens having 55 mm filter threads you would use a step-down ring.

Heliopan 145 Adapter Ring 77/58

Awesome, thanks!

On a side note, that seems pretty expensive for an adaptor. Would one like that really be that much better than something like this?