Olympus epl5 query

jaomul

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all. I kind of posted similar on the Equipment section, but not exactly the same so hoping the mods wont scold me. I should have posted here but forgot about the mirrorless section.

Is anyone using the Olympus epl5? I am looking for a portable system. I am not a pro but enjoy all aspects with portraits and wildlife, also bif but realise the oly wont be great here.

The reviews for this camera seem very positive and it ticks a lot of my wants boxes- Any user opinions please

Hi all. I kind of posted similar on the Equipment section, but not exactly the same so hoping the mods wont scold me. I should have posted here but forgot about the mirrorless section.

Is anyone using the Olympus epl5? I am looking for a portable system. I am not a pro but enjoy all aspects with portraits and wildlife, also bif but realise the oly wont be great here.

The reviews for this camera seem very positive and it ticks a lot of my wants boxes- Any user opinions please

Lotsa talk about that camera on this forum:

Micro Four Thirds Talk Forum: Digital Photography Review

I don't have one but I shoot with the E-PL1 and an OMD E-M5. For long telephotos, I find it absolutely necessary to have EVF. So if I were in your shoes, I would figure in the cost of the VF2 attachment into the price of the E-PL5. I also find that with telephotos, the E-M5's form factor with HLD6 grip necessary for added comfort and stability.

The reason why I am bringing this up is that most wildlife photos with the system are shot with the Panasonic 100-300mm (200-600mm equiv FF). Its a very compact and small lens compared to DSLR systems (less than half the weight /size typically) BUT its still sizable when attached to the petite sized micro 4/3rds bodies. I also find it uncomfortable to hold a camera at arms length when using these long lenses.... hence EVF.