One Photo 3 Ways - VOTE

Thanks for the votes everyone! :) Yes sm4him, I see why you are "mostly harmless". Obviously, if I'm just learning Lightroom, I have a very long way to go before I would consider taking photographs for profit. I appreciate everyone's opinions.

:raisedbrow: Now I'm wondering if I said something that WASN'T harmless. :lmao:

Obviously, if I'm just learning Lightroom, I have a very long way to go before I would consider taking photographs for profit. I appreciate everyone's opinions.

Much to the dismay of many of us here, it is NOT in fact obvious that just because you're just learning LR, you aren't taking photographs for profit...or, I should say, for money, as few of the folks I'm referring to actually MAKE any profit. :lol:
I am glad to hear, however, that such is not the case with you.

Since these are not for a paying client--how well do you know the person you took them for? You do NOT want to mess with a momma (or daddy's) perceived view of their young'un! I think I'd be inclined to just give them the first one, nice and safe processing that THEY can interpret however they want. The exception would be if I knew them well enough to KNOW it wouldn't insult them to show them a picture of their child that has really drawn out the poor, neglected look. That's my 1.75 cents' worth.

I like #1. #2 looks washed out in the shadows, and vibrant in the highlight: which to the skilled shooter, screams out "poorly-matched effect processing!". #3, similar--excessively blown white shirt, no detail in the shadowed eye, and just basically, crudely boosted contrast, which also hints at an effect or pre-set that is not refined for the underlying image. Your mileage may vary.