Opinions needed......

Crimsonandwhite

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Like always, I need you guys to tell me if this sucks or not :) Let me know what you like or what you would have done different!

Claw.jpg

It's a very good shot, but I would maybe crop the left, top and bottom a tiny tiny tiny bit, just to bring him a tad closer, and give his face/eyes a good sharpen, just seems a tad out of focus to me, but don't over do it, maybe a slight sharpen of whole face, then a bit more on the eyes, but remember don't over do it, That is all I can spot myself but someone more professional will be able to tell you more, I'm just a newbie really, hope that helped =)

I'd say it sucks. Compression halos. Gray/Yellow skin. No shadow detail. Squinty eyes.

Simplify the background. It's too cluttered without contributing anything to the story. Obliterate details with shallow DOF, or better yet, move the subject to a plainer background, or find a different angle of view.

The vignette is kind of heavy for my taste.

The skin tone is not flattering. I'd stick to normal color or go BW.

His pose is sort of slumped. Make him sit up straight, or lean forward and look slightly up to the camera. That would have a slimming effect. Try not to shoot heavy set people from below. From this angle of view the thighs and crotch are emphasized as much as the face. Have him bring the cup and hand up, and crop out the crotch and thighs.

Go with side lighting. Twist your 430EX around to the side and bounce the light off the wall. Or maybe angle it up and to the side. You might be amazed at how much difference this makes. Try sticking a white index card on your flash with a rubber band to help control where the light is bouncing (google "a better bounce card" for more details).

Lower your shutter speed to get a bit more ambient exposure in the background. It looks a bit dark, although some of that is the vignette.