Optimum aperture

nickfrog

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi,
I am very new to photography so please excuse the naive question. I recently got a 400d and bought a second hand 24-85 USM. I have 1 question : the best photos I have taken in terms of sharpness/quality/resolution have been when the aperture is at around f11. Is this a coincidence ?

Each lens has a different point where its optimal sharpness and difference between light falloff and vignetting hits. For that lens, F11 sounds about right.

Welcome to the forum.

I've always believed that each lens has a sweet spot...which usually starts a few stops down from fully open. A photo instructor of mine believed that F8 is the best aperture for any lens.

If F11 works for you...then stick with that.

Hi there. It's a very good question, and it's good that you're experimenting enough to notice this. In short the answer is no, it's not a coincidence. Lenses are sometimes said to have a 'sweet spot', the point at which you have optimum sharpness and resolution (not the same as greatest depth of field). This tends to be a few f-stops down from wide-open, but not stopped down fully either. Relatively slow (in terms of maximum aperture) zooms like the 24-85 may perform best stopped down to f/11. Faster or more expensive zooms and primes tend to have their 'sweet spot' nearer to wide-open, though rarely do lenses perform best fully wide-open.

Btw this is in no way a technical or comprehensive explanation, hopefully someone less tired than me can provide that! :)

Edit: I got beaten to this one... twice! You should probably just read the previous two posts... they explain it better and in fewer words! :D

All of my lenses's sweet spots are at f/8.

My 35-70 at 50mm at f/8 is just as sharp as the 1.8 prime, it's CRAZY!