Outdoor photography (on camera softbox or diffuser)

rdbaibo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi, im so happy to join this forum. Im an amateur photographer and I'm specializing in kids and family photography. Most of my photo sessions are outdoors in parks or seaside. I like shooting without flash in sunlight,but sometimes you have to use the flash to give some additional taste to the photos.Nevertheless,the on camera speed light is sometimes harsh and very strong.I want to get a softbox for it or a diffuser, do u recommend that? and which is better a softbox or a diffuser for the on camera speed light? another question, is the use of speedlight in sunshine always an addition? or sometimes it is totally not needed? or it goes back to the photographer's taste? I think there's no right and wrong in photography!!! waiting your replies...thank you:):sexywink:

Welcome to the forum.

I very often like to use flash when shooting outdoors. Outdoor light, especially direct sunlight, can be very hard and bright, which means that the shadows will have hard edges and can be pretty dark in comparison. I use the flash to add some light to those shadow areas. Also, when using flash outdoors, I can control the exposure of the background (ambient) and the exposure of the subject (flash) separately, which gives you several different options for how the photo will look.

Nevertheless,the on camera speed light is sometimes harsh and very strong.
That is likely because you are not getting a good balance between your ambient exposure and your flash exposure.

I want to get a softbox for it or a diffuser, do u recommend that? and which is better a softbox or a diffuser for the on camera speed light?
First, you should understand what those thing do, then make a decision if you need them.