Outfit from above project

devex90

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone,

i am writing on this forum because i am a beginner with regards to everything related to photography, especially product photography.

right now i would like to start a little project that consist in creating still life menswear outfits and shoot them from above; my point of reference and inspiration is @thepacman82, an instagram influencer that i consider the very best in this field; feel free to have a look at his feed in order to better understand what i am talking about
Phil Cohen (@thepacman82) • Instagram photos and videos
(i have no intention to become an influencer or one of his competitor; i own a very small fashion brand in italy and i just want to create outfits using my collections)

getting to the point; what kind of equipment should i buy if i want to create these kind of pictures (basically in my house).
- lights?
- softboxes?
- reflectors?
- light stands?
- camera tripod? which height?
- photography floors?
- which camera is the best considering that i am on a strict budget? i currently own a Nikon coolpix L340

thanks very much in advance
any advice is really appreciated

Hi,
are you trying to create these shots for your website, I'd try to do all the shots with the same background (and same lighting).
What you need in regard to lights depends if you want to go budget, or work with a professional budget.

The budget route would be:
1 external flash and a white wall plus ceiling. Bounce the flash onto the wall in the upper third (1,80m) ponting upwards. That would use the wall as a softbox, plus the ceiling as a fill light.
Place the outfits on the floor (start very close to the wall for less shadows and get further away if you want more) and shoot 90° down.