Overexposing to get desired results on Superia 400

SBlanca

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
stefanoblancaphotography.blogspot.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi guys, I've been shooting film for a couple of years now but I'm always stuck to setting my cameras to the right exposure. Now, for about a year I've been using an Olympus om40 that when shooting Portra 400 is perfect but when shooting Superia 400 (which I shoot more of because it's easier to get and cheaper), and especially in the last couple of rolls, the results are not to my liking, everything appears a lot more saturated. First of all, is this normal? I mean, at 400 it appears just as saturated as the Superia 200.

And does anybody have any experience with overexposing superia 400?

I feel like this is one of the little things I'll have to learn by doing, just how I learnt that to get the result I want in low lit/blue hour photos I have to underexpose a little to what the meter tells me.

So yeah, if anybody has any experience with over/under exposing superia 400 and if specifically with an Olympus I'd love to hear what you've got to say.

Cheers buddies.

I was over over expose my photographs 1-2 stops. I don't use Olympus though. I use the Nikon F100. Any film types will create the pastel-look.

I shoot a lot of Superia 400 (it's actually not bad for a cheap film), but I can't remember ever overexposing it... I always rate it at 400. I never have liked Superia 200...

I haven't shot the new Portra, but I've shot a lot of the old Portra films... I never really liked the VC version - over the top saturation, IMO. The NC was much more natural. I'd say that Superia 400 is somewhere between those as far as saturation goes. Definitely more saturation that the Portra NC films, but not up to the level of the VC variant. I hear that the new Portra is more like the NC than VC (it's just 'Portra' now - there is no NC and VC).