Overhead shot over a glossy suface

x1sc0

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Disclaimer: absolute beginner to photography.

Ok, so as I start learning the basics of product photography by browsing the web + trial & error, I came across one problem.

I want to closely match the lighting of the following shot,
$ai_ws2812_10pack.jpg

but from an overhead angle. Since the shot is taken on a reflective (black) surface, the somewhat obvious problem I get is that from an overhead angle, the camera's reflection can be seen in the shot.

Here's an example of the reflection on the same surface as above. I tried playing a little bit with the distance, position, and number of lights. The reflection is always there with the combinations i tried.

$DSC_0476.jpg

I'm open to setup suggestions (buying other surfaces/lights). At the moment, I have 2 tabletop lamps, and one softbox overhead. All three are continuous lights.

My question is, what kind of surface/lighting combination could I use to achieve a similar 'cloudy' look of the background from an overhead angle. I am at a loss so any suggestion is more than welcome. Thank you.

P.S. What is the correct term for describing the light appearance I showed? I couldn't come up with anything better than 'cloudy'.

Assuming that you do not want shadows then put the objects on a matt background. If you want the 'cloudy' effect then use a grey background.

If you still want to use a reflective background then you need to have the lens poking through a black matt sheet and arrange the camera and objects so that the reflection of the front of the lens is over one of the objects or remove the reflection in post processing.

Alternatively emulate the effect of a shift lens by using a wide angle lens and shooting with the objects off centre; the reflection of the lens will be in the centre of the frame and the objects will be to the side of it so that you can crop to remove the reflection