Deltarat

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.jasonpryorphotgraphy.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well, I have good news and bad news.

I've been laid off of work for the past 3 months. The GOOD news is that the company that laid me off is hiring me back. I'm going back to work.

The BAD news is, I'm going back to work! LOL!

What I mean is that, for the past 3 months, I have been completely focused on photography. I've had the freedom to study different photographers, go and shoot where and when I wanted to, and set up photo shoots at any time of the day. After I go back to work, I'll be limited to after 5pm on weekdays, and 2 weekend days. It's great that I'm going back to work, don't get me wrong. I'll be able to fund my photography now, which is great. But, I am going to miss my time freely studying photography.

Unfortunately, even as a full time photographer, I don't get to completely focus on photography....so much time spent marketing, dealing with invoices, taxes, bookkeeping and all the other things that come along with running a business.

I hope to one day, be able to support myself with photography full time. I'm a designer for Austal Shipbuilding right now. We design ships for the US Navy and a few commercial companies. My background is architectural design and that's what I prefer between the 2. When I worked for the architect, not only did I draw blueprints in CAD, but I got to do a ton of building and landscape photography!

I would love to eventually go into architectural and real estate photography full time. That's my dream.

I know what you mean, I was laid off from December till about May when I found a job I just couldn't pass up. and i used every bit of that time to get better at photography and to learn the other aspects of running a business. I know that time was very valuable to me for the amount I learned.