Pentax K1000 Long Lens and Light Meter Questions

mike28

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi. I am new to serious photography and obtained a Pentax K1000 camera about a month ago. The camera functions perfectly, except the built-in light meter does not produce accurate readings. According to the employee at my local camera store, the camera requires about one stop more light than is indicated by the meter. I've thought of getting it repaired or buying a separate light meter. I've considered purchasing a Gossen Lunasix on ebay, because I've read that they are effective and durable, and they are relatively cheap. Would I be better off getting the camera's internal meter repaired or buying a separate meter? What would be the advantages, if any, of a separate meter?

Another question about equipment. My primary interest in learning photography is taking pictures of human subjects. I've tried to take close-up pictures with the 50mm lens that comes with the camera. This has produced distorted facial features, with noses appearing awkwardly long. So I was thinking of switching to a zoom or telephoto lens, perhaps a 135mm lens. I know that my camera requires a k-mount lens, but I do not know how to distinguish among the various k-mount telephotos that are available. Would you be able to recommend a particularly excellent telephoto lens for photography of human subjects?

Thanks

If the meter on the camera is still functional, use it. Just be aware that you'll need to open it up a stop. You could also go with the sunny f16 rule and save repair costs or the cost of a handheld meter.

Welcome to the forum.

Does that camera have an ISO/ASA dial? You could just set it to one stop lower than the film you are using...that would take care of the meter problem.