Pentax K100D Super vs. Nikon D40/x

shivaswrath

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys,
this is my first post and I'm relatively new to the world of dSLR - I used to enjoy photography with my father's old 35mm (Pentax!) and I've been using a Casio P&S which is frankly a POS, so I've decided to upgrade!

I haven't held the K100d since there aren't many mainstream stores (Circuit City, Best Buy, etc.) that carry them - but I like the shake reduction (I'm tired of blurry pictures) and the fact I can get the pancake 40mm lens for daily use. The K100d seems to retail for about $350 for just the body to $599 with the lens kit. The pancake lens is about $250 at BH. So all in all, I'd spend around $700 here. I like the 11 point auto-focus lay out, versus the Nikon's scant 3 point auto-focus grid.

I HAVE held and messed around with the Nikon D40 and am keenly interested in the D40x, which would come to about $700. I realize that it has more megapixels than the K100d, but I don't care about that, I'm more concerned with picture quality, ease of daily use, portability, etc.

Any opinions from Pentax or Nikon users? I'd probably get a Nikon VR lens if I were to get the D40/x since I'd rather not risk more blurry shots from my apparently shaky hands!

Thanks!

You might also want to consider the K10d at just a few more dollars you get a really nice camera. The Pentax k10d will give you 10 megapixel as opposed to the 6 from the super. It will also give you a lower ISO of 100 instead of 200, an orientation sensor so the camera knows if you are holding it in landscape or portrait view and automatically make that adjustment in your image and will add a crapload of weather/dust seals. From BH you can get the k10d body for 699 + 50 mail in rebate.