Pentax k10d vs. Canon XTI vs. Minolta E410

robotfood15

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a noob who is looking to get a DSLR. I have never owned a SLR camera before and am completely new to the photography world. I was hoping that you all could help me make a choice.

I am considering the Pentax k10d, Canon XTI and the Olympus E410. For both the Pentax and the Minolta i was considering just getting the camera with the kit lenses. But for the Canon I wanted to just get the body and get a good prime lens to start with. The reason being I hear that Canon's have some of the worse kit lenses out there and my budget is around $700. I've seen test shots on both dpreviews and camerlabs and I could see where the Canon kit lens falters.

I have yet to go and handle the Pentax or the Olympus. I plan to do that soon. However I am most concerned with image quality. Thanks in advance.

You might want to look at the olympus line (E-500, 410 or 510) as well. They come with excellent kit lenses which will hold you over for a while and they have and continue to develop a nice series of lenses for later too.

The Pentax K10D would be the best camera out of those, BUT it is more for more experienced photographers, it has none of the "scene" modes of beginner SLRs, you might also want to consider the Pentax K100D, or the Pentax K100D Super. It will be less expensive than the Canon, not sure what the Minolta costs, The K100D has in body image stabilization, which means ANY lens that you attach to it is image stabilized. And you can find used primes for it pretty cheap on ebay. And from the reviews i have read, the pentax kit lens is the best of the lot...