Photo Credit Question

mangtarn

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This question is for all of you photojournalists out there. I just recently started working (volunteering) for my university paper and my photo got ran the first time. however the credit was given to the wrong person (the artistic director's name instead). please don't blame me for my shameless self promotion but i really want to see my name being attached to my photo.
so what is a polite way to ask him to put the right name in next time? I am a junior photographer so i really don't want to offend the guy. put my name in the metadata perhaps?

I always think it's a good idea to present your yourself as a professional rather than an junior photographer.
You don't need them to think you're a professional photographer, just a professional person.

I wouldn't be too weak with your confrontation
I would be firm, and say that this is your picture, and you want credit.
For any future work, I want the proper name under the picture.

Something like that.

thank you for your reply :thumbup: , you've got great points and i will definitely be taking your advise when i email him

thank you for your reply :thumbup: , you've got great points and i will definitely be taking your advise when i email him
Really? Why not try talking to him! It's rarely a bad thing to be remembered. This is a good chance to get your face known. Don't worry about being thought of as a self-promoter; wanting the correct credit is no difference than wanting to be paid correctly. Any journalist with any integrity will be a lot more bothered by the fact that he/she put the paper to bed with a mistake than you are.

Make sure that you insist that the correction is on the same page and prominence (above/below fold as appropriate) as the photo was run.