Photo Orginization: Creating my own program

Palyriot

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone. For the past couple of days I've been working on a program for organizing your photos so you don't have to deal with Windows Explorer. I'm rather new to photography, but skilled in programming and would love if anyone could give me some ideas for development of my program.

Currently I have:
  • Category/Subcategory browsing
  • Photo browsing by category
  • Live preview of selected image (resizable)
Few things I plan on adding (way more will be added):
  • Direct ftp linking to sync online (selected photos) and offline collection
    • This includes website software that will work alone or with the program
  • Import directly from camera or card
  • Smart renaming of photos
  • Auto BB code for showing your photos on forums
    • Auto numbering
    • Optional comments for each picture
  • Several available methods for organizing your photos.
  • Organized folders to allow for easy exporting of your collection
Obviously I don't have much yet, but would love some advice. Also, if anyone would like to use this program after I am finished, I will be hosting the file for anyone to use (for free).

Please, please anyone, tell me what you think would be good for a photo collection program. Also, go ahead and tell me your favorite method on organizing your photos so it can be included in the software.

Thank you,

Palyriot

Very interesting. The problem I have with photo organizers is that they tend to be less simple than what I use by default: Each session of the year gets an order number, starting at year_number. That order number gets a folder (ClientName_Order#), and within that folder are folders for unedited files, tiffs to be edited, print ready files and web-ready proofs. That's it. I know where everything is, and I can find it in an instant.