Photo Printers? You like um? You use um?

havoc

Jedi something or other
Reaction score
How many of you like to print out your work yourself with a photo printer?
What printer do you use? (There seems to be a daunting amount of photo printers to choose from) Who is loyal to HP, Epson or Canon?

Anyways any comments about Photo printers are welcome. I am new at this, just curious to learn more about them....

Well aside from brand, the thing you want from a printer for printing photos is the seperate color cartridges. Cyan, Yellow, Magenta and Black (CMYK) Even better is to have cyan, light cyan, yellow, light yellow, magenta, light magenta and black. Then you will be looking at the picolet size. Smaller the better.

I like printing many of my photos. I however bought a fairly cheap printer/scanner/copier type of deal. I have been researching quality printers recently though. I have the lexmark 5150. It works fairly decent for multi-purpose unit. I scan things quite a bit also for a side business so it works fairly well.'

Let me know what you have found i looking at printers as far as quality.

mm..epson rocks. i may be vias because that's what my school had. however they had one of these:

http://www.vistek.ca/details/detail_over.asp?eCode=208536&TYPE=&Specs=N&Box=N

and its amazing! and it has all the seperate inks and such. but it's 12k..eep! (this website is in canadian btw)

i have yet to try on my home printer..its old..an old canon. prolly sont do a good job. and right now i just have kodak paper.

and to letcha know. with whatever porinter you get, you'll want to experiment with different papers (brand etc). because that epson printer does NOT like glossy kodak paper (maybe any kodak paper)..the ink chips off..oops..

as well, settings (in the program you print from) seem to really matter.

;)