photo virgin

chris82

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
shutterbugs.myfreeforum.org
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Im an absolute noob when it comes to photography and my camra is a £111 olympus x-715 digital,i know...its rubish but untill i save up some cash it will have to do.my first pic was of a sun rise and it was pretty good if i do say so myself.I have two questions,what would be a good entry level camera and have you any tips for the mean time until i get that entry level cam:D

Hi there and welcome to TPF!

Probably the most popular two entry level SLR digital cameras are the Nikon D50 (£380 kit) and the Canon EOS350D (£440 kit).

In the mean time, I'd say practise with your camera in manual mode if it has one and learn about exposure times, focal lengths, composition and depth of field. You may be limited in control with a budget compact, but it's the photographer that makes the shot and remarkable results can be had with something as simple as a pin-hole camera.

Think of what you want to photograph and why and get out and shoot. Post your results here and get some feedback and everyone will be able to help you adjust your technique until you can produce what you want. Having an aim in mind is important - read magazines for inspiration and look at other photographers' work.

Rob

Rob's giving you all the good advice ... instead of just randomly taking pics, if you are interested in photography you will want to learn how to create a photo. It is a deep and thoroughly interesting field with many different aspects about it, so there is much there for you to learn which can also and quite as well be learned with a cheaper camera as with a "better" one. What is supposed to be good in the end is your PHOTO. Not your camera.