Photographer from Australia

Joel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.sydpk.com
well, ok, i wouldnt call myself a photographer... yet...

Im new to photography and im just looking for a point in the right direction. i've always enjoyed a good photo so i was excited to score
my mums Pentax MZ-50 (when she got a new compact digital). i have a few questions?

• Is this camera any good? (do you want more details on it?)
  • Do you have any advise to give a newb like myself?
  • With develoing the film, is it too newb-like to just take my roll of film to the shop to get developed? or should i look in some other direction? Remembering im very new and have a budget of a uni student (ie next to nothing).
  • Last, is anyone here from Australia?
Thanks heaps in advance for your help.

Joel

I live in Melbourne, so you're not alone on this forum (I think there are quite few Aussies on here, actually)

Devleoping your film at any place is fine, but if you want great quality prints, you might be better to go to a reputable camera store.

I don't know aboutyour particular camera - but Pentax is a brand with a good reputation and some great lenses (I have a very okld Pentax K1000 - it's a great manual camera), so you should be Ok with it as a starting point.

My only real advice to you as a beginner would to take lots of pictures. Get hold of a good book might help (there's quite a few recommended here). I'd aslo recommend switching teh camera to aperture pririty to help you get a feel for how it afects depth of field. Read lots of forum like this one, and check out other peoples pictures. You might also like to join a local camera club. But mainly, take lots of pictures :)

Hello, alas I'm not from australia, in my dreams!

I've never seen or used your camera, but they're all basically light tight boxes with a hole that opens and closes in. Just looked it up on the internet, looks absolutely fine!