Photographing item with dual tone (e.g. black and pink pistol)

amadaras

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
New to the forum, so I am not sure if I am posting this in the correct location. Anyways, be kind. :)

I am a product photographer for a local company that sells airguns. While most items I can photograph very well, I always struggle with items that have a high contrast in color. We have some guns that are dual tone (black and silver, black and pink, black and green, etc) and I have a hard time finding balance. The blacks are always very black, and the bright colors are always blown out.

I have a very simple setup; two hotlights with umbrellas, and some reflectors. The camera I work with is an old Canon 50D. The tripod is... crap.

While I normally would just use a multiple exposure to expose each area correctly, my tripod is not the most stable and will move between shots (more than just a little bit), making multiple exposures next to impossible.

Any tips or tricks to help me out?
Thanks!

Remote Triggers will help if you want to do multiple exposures or continuous shooting to turn off lights, unless the tripod drifts or the shutter movement actually shifts the image (you could shoot a target in the corner if you really want and adjust you image such that the target is consistent as well then crop it out). Another thing you can do is mask out the light to the areas you don't want to over expose using a Piece of glass covered with black tape in the rough shape of the highlights then position it such that it is just outside the FOV of the camera in the direct path of one or both of your lights. Do you have any pictures you can share of things that got blown out?

While I normally would just use a multiple exposure to expose each area correctly, my tripod is not the most stable and will move between shots (more than just a little bit), making multiple exposures next to impossible.