Photographing my own products for website: lighting

Sarahs999

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, I hope some of you can help me. I'm not a professional photographer, but I am putting together a website for my new business, and want to photograph all the products against a white backdrop. I'm using my trusty old canon eos 300d. I've watched various tutorials on using soft boxes but we have quite a range of things - from furniture down to bags of fudge, so obviously not everything will fit in a box. I want to try and get a uniform look and realise the lighting is key. But I have no idea what to buy. We have very little cash but obviously want to do it as well as possible. I've seen I need 5000k daylight bulbs. Do I need 3 lights or will 2 do? What lights are budget but good enough? And lastly, do I need some sort of diffuser across the light if I'm not using a soft box?

Thanks so much - I'm really a total beginner at this so please don't assume I know anything!

Light Science and Magic - 4th edition. Get a copy from your library or buy the book, its a detailed book on lighting for beginners which deals with working with multiple light sources and also multiple product types and materials. It will give you a wealth of information that will make your work a lot easier, plus it will make it a lot easier to start choosing what equipment will be best for you to use to take the photos that you need.

I completely agree. Get 'Light: Science & Magic'. Read it, follow it, live it.

I've seen I need 5000k daylight bulbs. Do I need 3 lights or will 2 do? What lights are budget but good enough? And lastly, do I need some sort of diffuser across the light if I'm not using a soft box?
+1 on - Light Science and Magic: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting

For products as big as furniture you may need as many as 5 or 6 lights to have a consistent look with the small products.