Photographing objects for a website

bigpuddin43

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First off I am pretty new to this and have just started getting serious about this hobby. My buddy that makes custom duck and goose calls asked if I would try to take some good shots of some of his calls for his website. I do mostly nature shots just as a hobby and won't be paid for this as he can't afford to for just his side business. I was just wondering if anyone had any advice. I am shooting a canon rebel eos and have a canon 18-55 lens and a 100-300 lens. Here are some pics that he takes with his phone so you can see what I will be shooting. I think the big thing will be reducing glare on them so it doesn't distract from the colors and grain of the wood. Any advice would be helpful just trying to help a buddy out.

aqa8edyd.jpg

4a6atyby.jpg

renusy9a.jpg

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
This is on the humerous side, but you can get alot of inexpensive tips from it

Last edited by a moderator:
Yeah we had been discussing him buying one of these and those prices aren't bad at all. I will show it to him today. Gonna take some sample pics and see what I can do with them but I agree one of these will be needed to get the best pictures.

Yeah we had been discussing him buying one of these and those prices aren't bad at all. I will show it to him today. Gonna take some sample pics and see what I can do with them but I agree one of these will be needed to get the best pictures.

Best part is that you don't even really have to have a nice DSLR setup to do product photography. Most modern PAS and phone cameras can do it just fine.

Yeah he does pics with his phone and posts on Facebook which is how he sells most of his calls but wants some really good ones for his website as he doesn't change them very often