Photographing the impossible: an aircraft leather chair!

Artifex007

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Okay, newbie here. But that aside, I have a very perplexing situation. Looking for help (please!) I am photographing (Canon 7D) a series of before and afters of leather refurbishment on aircraft chairs for a presentation. I am having the hardest time getting a successful shot of the chair for several reasons. First the lighting; the chair shows hot spots, areas that are shiny. I can't reveal the detail I am looking for. Which is a dramatic transformation of dirty ugly disgusting seats transformed into beautiful refurbished masterpieces! I have three soft boxes, ad hoc led 800 lumen LED spots, and a couple of tungsten RPS cheapies. Also shooting against a green screen with a canon 7D using the 28-135 and a 50 MM 1.8. Any suggestions?

Two things come to mind: (1) lack of diffusion; and (2) the lights are two far from the subject. Get your lights as close to the chair as possible; the closer the light, the softer the light and the less intense the specular highlights. A diagram of your current lighting set-up and an example shot would help greatly.

$image.jpg
Thanks for the quick reply. The iChat's are very close. Check it out.

BIG softboxes... or even better a really large scrim. Those softboxes too small to shoot anything with.

I wouldn't say those are too small to shoot "anything" with. But they're certainly too small to do what you want to do. Ones that size would be used for things like adding a medium-narrow "kicker" highlight on a model or something, but less harshly than with a snoot or a beauty dish (like making their head broadly a little brighter on top of the main lighting).

The softboxes you want if you just want super diffuse directional lighting with no specular highlights would be more on the order of the same size of the chair, though.

zaraqahe.jpg