photography at horse shows - legal issues to be conscious of?

jumi08

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone,
I am an amateur photographer - I have been privileged to use my Dad's fancy SLRs and lenses - and I am a horse addict as well. I photograph at horse shows for fun, usually of just friends and teammates. But it is also a very active business, and buying photographs of you and your horse is quite popular. Some of the bigger name photographers have tents set up at horse shows... others just have their business cards, but nonetheless, professional websites.
I am interested in setting up my own website and small photography business - I am not looking to make profits, its more of an experiment than anything - to test my skills at photography and business. But I am not sure, if I am selling and making profit, if there is any license I need or other mandatory steps to take before I can set up my own website to sell photographs. I am mainly concerned with the legal issues, which I am very unfamiliar with.
Thank you for any help
~J

Horses are addictive, aren't they :)

One thing to keep in mind in addition to the general legal stuff..............at most horse shows the show organizers usually have a photographer officially retained to shoot the competition. You could run into problems if you start selling photos from a show if you didn't have their permission to shoot it; before you go, check with the show organizers to make sure you can.

Good luck!

Try to hit some of the smaller shows, get ahold of the show producer and the association running the show. Most of the smaller shows I go to, there is no photographer. They are just there for the championship shows. Where are you ? We show at stock horse of texas and reined cowhorse shows.