Photography business taxes

waynegz1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.wphotographysat.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was wondering, how would my taxes look? Technically I started my photography business (weddings and other evetns etc.) this year and I really took a loss after all equipment expenses.

Can my vehicle, internet, phone line, and of course equipment be reported as a deduction? This is my very first year doing this, so any info would be great!

Thanks.

Everything related to your business can become a deduction but it doesn't mean you deduct the full value of certain things all in one year.

Bodies, lenses, etc are deducted over the life of the items.

With a vehicle, unless it legally belongs to the business, you are going to take the miles or do a full value of detailed expenses minus those costs for personal use. But you need to keep records of all that. When I used a vehicle for both business and private use, I took the miles, much easier, with a record of mileage each time I went somewhere on business

Consumables are fully deducted the year of use however.

One thing that you will get different advice about is deducting part of your house costs (the home office and home studio) because it can be a red flag for the IRS.

The main thing is to find the right person to do your taxes. Start asking for referrals now and have a chat with those people to try and determine if they are any good.

And as you will soon learn, you are supposed to pay taxes quarterly.

Is there sale's tax in TX? Have you been collecting it and paying it. Up in Maryland, the last place where I collected sales taxes, the payment of such was also quarterly but TX could be different.

It would have been a good idea to look into all this before launching your business so start figuring it out NOW.