Photography consultant needed

john.coleman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, my photography experience is *extremely* limited, that is why I'm posting to this forum.

I'm a software engineer working on a medical imaging project. I have a medical device that captures images using an analog 35mm back. The device has some sort of bayonet mount where the camera is directly attached without lens. My best guess is that it is a k-mount from the pics I've studied on the web.

The medical imaging device (TR50-EX) is currently manufactured by Topcon as well as the camera back (MT-10) which attaches to it. My project requires me to fit a digital camera to the apparatus in place of the analog camera back. We're looking for the best possible image quality as it is for medical purposes. Cost of the camera is not too much a factor.

I am looking for someone knowledgeable in photography to colaborate with on this project. Anyone who has some time and would like to do some consulting work and/or parts sales, please reply. Thanks!

I couldn't find any info on the TR50-EX. If you go to a digital camera, you will need to use an adapter to mount the body to the device. For a camera I would go with a Canon 1Ds, as it's pretty hard to beat in the 35mm film-analogue realm.

Unfortunately a cursory look doesn't turn up a K-mount to Canon EOS adapter. Same with a K-mount to Nikon. Most likely the problem is that the K-mount design puts parts of the lens in places that conflict with parts of the body, as in they both want to occupy the same place. I think the diameter of the K-mount is somewhat large, so any adapter would mount the lens in front of the camera, acting like an extention tube.

Depending upon the design of the TR50, you might be able to replace the K-mount with something you could find an adapter for, like the T-mount or M42. Do you have a picture of the TR50?