Photography for Technical Literature

techwriter

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey everybody :)

New here. I love photography and have been doing it for a while just for fun, nothing really advanced. Got a Canon Rebel t3 and pair it up with Photoshop for some fun photos at family events, hiking, etc. I also dabble in web development (HTML, CSS, JavaScript, PHP, and use MySQL for db needs).

Well, my new boss (just started the job) just found out I can photograph and develop websites and liked what he saw. I'm a technical writer, writing safety manuals, operation manuals, project proposals, etc. Now he has visions manuals not only hosted online (no problem with that), but also high detail photos in the instruction manuals.

In many cases, like operations and safety manuals, this is not a problem at all. In fact, I think it's an improvement. HOWEVER, we make BIG equipment - as in 100+ tons. Sooo...lots of parts of various sizes, very complicated, and I would much rather use line drawings (we are going to use those for schematics), but he wants photos even for part repair.

The problem is I have never done THIS type of photography, and I'm seeing all sorts of problems before I even start, namely color and lighting. With line drawings, it's simple 2D drawing with no light at all to worry about, and you always have a great angle. I don't have a clue how I'm going to do this. I'm not asking for a full answer here, but can someone maybe point me to a book or give me some basic ideas? (Thought about doing black and white with super high contrast, but I don't know how well that will work).

Any ideas would be appreciated, thanks!

-techwriter.