Photography @ Night? (Landscapes?) 1

RK.D

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I am an amateur photographer just trying to learn the ropes. I just wanted to know how to take night shots with my SLR.

I am trying to use the following settings:

1'' , f9 and ISO of 100-800

But the shots I get are still Blur or has lots of noise. I have been trying a lot and I gave up. I will try to post my pics here but, I really need help with Landscape photography in the night.

This is my camera. Please help!

1) Cannon Rebel T3i.

These are my lens:
1) 18-55mm Kit lens
2) 50-250mm
3) 75-300mm lens.

Try this member's helpful post: http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/...aheim-s-ultimate-guide-night-photography.html

You don't mention having a tripod. That's the thing you need to do night shots. Plus a few more tricks that Manaheim describes.

I generally use the lowest ISO (I have a T1i, and shoot at ISO 100), keep the camera on a tripod, use all the vibration-reducing tricks (mirror lockup, remote shutter release, NO IS) manual focus, usually with live-view, and manual shooting mode. Depending on the amount of lights in the photo, exposure can range from 1 sec to 30 sec. Aperture is usually set to give me the DOF I want. I also use Canon's option of Long exposure noise reduction (C.Fn-4, pg. 253 of your manual). I usually do NOT use C.Fn-5, as the noise reduction is applied to the jpg file, and I prefer to shoot RAW (for editing).

^ I was just gonna suggest he look up that thread. My god that Manaheim guy is wicked pissah helpful.

:D

Good thing you're humble. :lol:

Mom always said to do what you're good at. I'm super awesome at being humble, so I go that route a lot.

:D

Once for each leg.... tripod, tripod, tripod

Try this member's helpful post: http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/...aheim-s-ultimate-guide-night-photography.html