Photography Schools

martinb

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So I am wondering, have a lot of you gone to photography school at all and if so, what school?
In July I may be going to Brooks Institute of Photography in Ventura, CA.
I am majoring in photojournalism but I also applied to Harrington College of Design for photography which is in Chicago, and Columbia College in Chicago for photography.

Brooks is most likely where I will be attending tho, and was wondering if anyone has heard anything about these schools and do you have any feedback on them?
Thanks!

Brooks is supposedly a wonderful school.

I have heard a lot of the same and I am hoping they do live up to what I've heard. They have a few people on their advisory board that work for National Geographic which is sweet cause that's my dream job, or TIME mag.
I'm really nervous though getting into this kind of environment and I am at such a beginner skill. I was going to the University of Cincinnati for 2 1/2 yrs majoring in Liberal Arts and going on a Pre-Law track, but it's just not what I enjoy.
Photography was what I first wanted to go for, but I am still pretty new at it. I am surprised not a lot of people have gone to school for photography on here.

I went to a school here in Cincinnati called Antonelli college... as for if I would recommend going to a school... I have found that you get out of a school what you put into it. It was a pretty good experience for me though, not as much as what I learned, as it was just doing it every day, and meeting different people that are in the industry.

I have heard that Brooks is the place to go if you want to go into photojournalism. But if you want to go into studio or other avenues its not. But that was awhile ago, so I'm not quite sure now.

Ask yourself, is it worth $165,000 to have a bachelors in photography?

Now if it's a BFA, where you have an emphasis on photo, than sure.