Photojournalists

still_learning

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello!

Getting to the point, I thought that photojournalists are photographers who take photos for newspapers, etc and to be a successful one, you need to be able to create a creative and interesting image quickly. However, do photojournalists tend to ever write their own articles for magazines or anything? I'm studying photography and arranged to photograph a woman today in her studio, where she paints ceramic plates. She said a photographer emailed her not long ago, asking if she could photograph her and her work and wanted to find out more about the ceramic artist. She said ''oh i can't remember what she said she was - a photo writer or something?'' i thought she meant photojournalist but she said that the woman writes her own articles to go along with her photos and tries to get them published in magazines (not the high end ones, more local type magazines)

So does that still count as a photojournalist? If not, what's the title these people give themselves?
Thanks in advance. I'm a bit confused.

Generally, no. They do not. I was a journalism major in college for a while, I ran our college paper, and even in the professional level, photo journalists do not write their own material. Journalism is an art within writing that may be a niche, but has limitless room for mastery. It can be straight to the point, or it can be done with with strokes of verbose and dazzling story-telling. Photo journalism is equally as complex, because aside from the aspects of capturing an engaging story, some of the lengths these photo journalists must go to capture these images regularly put them in harm and danger (not all, but it can).