Photomatix Question (ugly sky)

JayhawkCWE

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey Guys,

First post here, was looking for a photography forum with some knowledgeable people and hopefully I've found it.

I'm a long time photographer but am new to HDR. I picked up the Photomatix plugin for CS4 and am having a few problems with it. For the most part it works great, but when I run some photos through it that have a lot of sky in them, the sky turns out a dull greyish blue color. All of the other colors turn out fantastic, but it always looks like there's a storm brewing over the horizon.

This has to be a fairly common issue if it's happening to me, because I have no clue what I'm doing.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!

I would help out if you posted an example but from what you are describing it sounds like the smoothing is set low or smoothing light click on to min or low.

another possibility is a combination of strengh and smoothing play with the sliders.

I think two of the faults with HDR software is the ease in creating dark sooty clouds and bright fluorescent yellowish green grass. Both are attributable to the problems mentioned by Provo. The screen is interactive so as you move the sliders you can see the result. So just back off the slider for the clouds. As for the grass, take it in photoshop and using Selective Color, reduce the yellow and increase the cyan in the Green with maybe a little extra black.