Photoshop Elements 6 vs. Lightroom 2

laura_vancouver

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am an amateur photographer who is looking to become a bit more serious in her amateurish-ness. I use a digital SLR camera, and often take photos in RAW. I have just gotten a new computer, and am trying out various photo software. I don't need all the power of a full Photoshop CS4, but am trying to decide whether Lightroom 2 or Elements 6 is better for me (I have a Mac and they don't seem to have Elements 7 for Mac yet). I've downloaded free trials of both, and see advantages to both. I really like a lot of the options in Lightroom, but Elements allows more variety and detailed editing, as well as allowing me to process RAW and stitch Panoramas (neither or which Lightroom does). Any suggestions or recommendations as to which would be best (or both)??

Thanks!

Well 1, you can definitely process raw's in lightroom. But there really made for two different things, lightroom is made to do most edits and organize/file your photos. Photoshop does more detailed editing, you choose if you need to do the really detailed editing.

I use Elements and have played with the trial version of Lightroom.

I shoot Canon so (for me) Lightroom is DPP (Canon software) on steroids - for what I was doing (RAW to JPEG), DPP was sufficient. But I'm sure I barely scratched surface of LR capability - I think I got general idea. I see LR like a "Photo Lab" where you can develop and archive your photos digitally.

Canon does not offer anything "free" that does what Elements can do so it is more useful to me.

Welcome to the forum.