Photoshop help please :D

Yamaha_gurl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Good Morning,

Alright so I am brand new to photoshop. Can anyone please explain to me how I can change a color in a photo? Basically, I want to learn how to change colors :D For example, how would I change the blue in this pic to red?

100_2255.jpg

TIA :D

-Maggie

The basis of many things that you do in Photoshop is making a selection. This allows you to edit certain parts of the image, without changing other parts. In this case, you would select the blue parts, then it would be easy to change those parts to any color you wanted. Also, the use of layers is key to most Photoshop work as well.

Now, to make things easier, but a bit more complicated...we can add masks. A mask like putting a black sheet of paper over the image...and when we erase the mask, the parts under the mask will show through. You can use a selection to create, add to or subtract from the mask. Also, you can use a brush tool to paint the mask on or off....so you can go back and forth and fine tune the edges, to make it look perfect.

There are plenty of different ways of making selections. The lasso tool, the magic wand etc. In this case, you could try 'select color range'.

I believe there is also a 'Replace color tool' which was made foe what you are trying to do.

It's not too difficult really but as I'm not sitting in front of my home PC it's hard to remember exactly.

One I remember is make a selection around the colour and feather it a bit. Now go to image>Adjustments>Hue Saturation.

Move the hue slider then saturation to get the colour you want.

The basis of many things that you do in Photoshop is making a selection. This allows you to edit certain parts of the image, without changing other parts. In this case, you would select the blue parts, then it would be easy to change those parts to any color you wanted. Also, the use of layers is key to most Photoshop work as well.