Photoshop...is that my only choice?

Flora

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I hope I'm not chastised for asking this question, but does anyone use any other editing software besides Photoshop?? I is so pricey, curious if there was anything else out there for someone who doesn't want to spend quite that much?! :confused:

Photoshop Elements will do most of what Photoshop can do, in terms of photo editing. And it's much more reasonably priced.

GIMP is a freeware program that you can download. Many people use it for basic photo editing.

There are countless other programs for doing basic things to your digital images. Just about every digital camera comes with some sort of software, not to mention what is included with either the Windows or Mac OS.

The GIMP is free, it's not too bad.

Paint Shop Pro is supposed to be pretty good too, though I've never used it before. I think it's comparable in price to Photshop Elements (which is also good).

I just downloaded Paint.net, but I haven't really gotten to mess around with it yet - it's free too, but I hear it's not as good as Gimp, but a little easier to use.

Paint Shop Pro is supposed to be pretty good too, though I've never used it before. I think it's comparable in price to Photshop Elements (which is also good).
I'll vouch for PaintShop Pro as an alternative for Photoshop. It is pretty inexpensive, $50-70? I have PaintShop Pro 8 and have used it for years. I didn't do much photographically on it, rather I did graphics for gaming (sim racing paint schemes to be exact).

The tools are the same as Photoshop, but are just a bit different to work with. Levels for example, are not as easy as in Photoshop. But everything from levels, curves, noise reduction, sharpening, layers as well as your other graphical stuff is there. All the tools and features as far as I can tell, just slightly behind Photoshop in the ease of using them at far less cost.