pictures in the dark

i'm also a beginner and i've tried some night shots and they were
a bit blurry. i need a tripod though:|.

the problem is that the sky is well light but the ground isn't...
i guess it's trial and error from here...

Night photos are really something that you can only learn through experience.
ISO 3200/6400 is really more than you need.

My photography professor taught us to start at ISO 400 8sec. @ f8 for things like skylines at night as a starting point.

AAre you shooting with color film? B&W? If digital, then you just gotta tweak your manual settings if you have those features.

For film, you gotta make exposure compensation.

Yes, def get a tripod! it was one of the best purchases I bought. Also look into a cable release, as it freed me from shaking the camera when doing long exposure night shots on the bulb setting.

The best thing i can tell you is to go out and experiment. Our first night assignment helped a lot. I had to shoot a scene at a set aperture (f5.6) several times at different shutter speeds (.5 sec, 1 sec, 4 sec....ect.) When using f-22 I even had to shoot one at up to 9 minutes! We did this at 4 locations: bright (downtown), medium bright (fairly well lit), medium dark (not much light at all, needed a flashlight) and dark (middle of the woods with no lights.) As long as you can distinguish the lighting of an area, you can use the aperture and shutter that you found to be best developed during your experiment.

Just remeber to use a tripod and dont trust your meter in the dark!

Mumfandc said:
Night photos are really something that you can only learn through experience.
ISO 3200/6400 is really more than you need.
Well not for skylines, I wasn't sure if the original poster was referring to night photography as in skylines and highways, or action shooting which would need the high isos.