Pictures without editing

Jim C.

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
While cruising Pinterest I saw a posting titled How to take pictures without editing them, or something like that. It got me thinking. Photographers have always diddled with their photos from darkroom days to the computer of today. For the most part I do not "edit" my shots. I didn't with film and I don't with digital. Part of the reason is I try to get a good shot in the initial take and I am not really good with editing software. I simply use Nikon free software that is limited in it's creative abilities. Then I got to looking at some shots of downtown and thought how good that picture would be with a little tweaking. What I came up with is editing only adds to our creative abilities It doesn't take anything away it completes the process.

Jim

Obviously that should be without not withour

Aye editing is but one part of the process, however digital made every lay person have the affordable tools to do anything. Then TV made it sound like all you had to do was click a button and BAM you can turn that blurry shot of the back of someone's head into a sharp arty shot of their face, whilst also adding in 3 posing models, a fantastic backdrop and a nuclear explosion all without any skill.

Suffice to say some people got a bit worried because part of what they see as the "Art" of photography is capturing the moment with the camera. Ergo getting it right in camera. Many of them who had little computing understanding don't quite get that to do all of what I just said and make it look good typically requires a lot of work; and also often very good source photographs. In fact most of the people I know who edit heavily DO have to get it right in camera - often very well - so that they've the material to work with.

In the end "no editing" mostly translates to "didn't go nuts in photoshop".

ironic as there's no unedited pictures on Pinterest.