Please Advise Me. Image Distortion Question

myopicseer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am an oil painter, not a photographer. I plan to hire a photographer to photo my art, but for now I am tasked with this assignment. Over many years using my simple Coolpix 5700, I have always seemed to have the same problem when shooting my art:

Slight "fisheye" (bulge) effect. I try to shoot within a range of 4 feet. I generally have tried to use the close setting (the flower icon). Inevitably the straight edges of the canvas or picture frame bow slightly outward. This drives me nuts, since otherwise the image color, exposure...everything else is very acceptable to me. I tried googling this problem, and cannot locate any reference to it at all. Is this likely a problem with the camera, with the settings or with my approach? I am absolutely clueless and would appreciate some possible insight.

Thanks.

Try zooming in as tight as the camera can without going into "digital zoom". Then, back up until the painting fills the frame. Use the "normal" setting to do this.

As pugs says that should do it for ya. The reason your getting the effect is cause your shooting a wide focal length of say example 14mm. At wide focal lengths you get that effect. At a focal length of 100mm will not make what your having happen, happen. Here is an example.

22mm.jpg

You notice with this wide angle lens her jaw and face are curved out like the effect your getting.

65mm.jpg

But with a longer focal length such as this 65mm it tighter and does spread out the image so to say. Hope this helps on why your getting the effect a little more.