Please help me with Canon 350D setup.

Lolly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I recently bought a Canon 350D to use for freefall photography.
I'm having trouble getting it set up correctly though.
I have to admit that even though I am a photographer by trade, I know almost nothing about cameras.

Here are 3 shots from the same jump.
Does anyone know why they all seem so different and what settings would give better results.
I used a Sigma 15mm lens.
If anyone can suggest some good settings to achieve better pictures, I'll try them out next time and post up the results.

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum.

I think the problem is metering. You have a dark subject in the middle of a scene that is very bright. The 2nd one looks better but the background is blown and washed out. Not much you can do about that, the tonal range is just higher than your camera can deal with. You could, of course, use flash to light up the subject.

As Mike says - your camera is metering a bright scene and darker objects will be very dark. In No 2 you have metered the darker guy so the camera will have to overexpose the background (lighter area) to compensate.

Best way may be to take a meter reading off the background and use flash to light the subject - 15mm is very wide though.

Migh be best to take a reading from the subject and set your camera to manual and shoot that way. Your background will be over exposed though. Shooting RAW may help get some detail back.

this is a tough one!! How can you be a photographer to trade and know nothing about cameras?? :D

I would shoot in raw. Make sure you are using the correct metering. I dont know how you feel about using the on-board flash as a fill in. Also you can use a polarizer filter so your sky isn't blown out.

I think the problem is the type of metring. All the photos have a dark centre subject with a white surround so that is not the issue.