Please Help Me

CaboWabo

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi First off I am a noob , I would like some help on understanding what is what when it comes to getting a used camera . I have read many posts on here what to buy and still dont understand . like all things some like cannon and some like nikon . I would like to get a nikon but I dont understand how that a older D40 can go for the same as a D3000 . I have been watching ebay a D40 goes for 300 and brand new at best buy a d3000 can go around $465 . Can some one recommend to me what Nikon model to get , I want to shoot architecture both day and night and I really want to be able to shoot HDR in the day . I am on a limited budget thats way I am asking maybe $300 to $500 . Thanks to anyone that can help me

Hi First off I am a noob , I would like some help on understanding what is what when it comes to getting a used camera . I have read many posts on here what to buy and still don't understand . like all things some like cannon and some like nikon . I would like to get a nikon but I dont understand how that a older D40 can go for the same as a D3000 . I have been watching ebay a D40 goes for 300 and brand new at best buy a d3000 can go around $465 . Can some one recommend to me what Nikon model to get , I want to shoot architecture both day and night and I really want to be able to shoot HDR in the day . I am on a limited budget thats way I am asking maybe $300 to $500 . Thanks to anyone that can help me
The D40 and the D3000 are entry-level cameras. In fact, the D3000 replaced the D40 in Nikon's line up. At that basic entry-level, the $165 difference in price is pretty substantial (35%).

For your price range I would recommend a well cared for D40 with the standard 18-55 mm kit lens. For both architecture and HDR you will need a stable tripod and tripod head, so check eBay for one of those too.