PLEASE HELP! -Producing file for billboard printing

Melmoth71

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi all, I could definitely use some help with a printing issue.

I have won a commission for one of my black and white photos to be printed as a large (28 x 10.5 metres) banner and placed on the facade of a large arts organisation, so I'm over the moon with excitement but there seems to be a problem with the printing process.

The file for the printing company is being produced by a volunteer graphic designer but neither he nor the arts organisation are experts at producing images for billboards/banners and I have no experience whatsoever of this sort of thing, so we seem to be lost at the moment and I'm terrified of losing this opportunity.

The problem is that the printing company is telling us that when the original image is blown up to the size required for the printing, the quality is not good enough. The graphic designer has used Photoshop and Perfect Resize to blow up the image. The printing company's team have also produced an enlargement which they say is not good enough. However from what I've read on the Internet people use regular DSLR cameras to shoot photos for billboards.

My original (monochrome) file (resized to fit the banner's proportions) is from my Nikon D60 DSLR at maximum res, it's 3872x1450 pixels big. The designer says the image has to be blown up to 16535 pixels wide which he hasn't managed to do with the required quality.

I came up with the idea of printing my photo with the best quality possible (maybe as a 12x4 inch print), then scanning the print with a high-res scanner to produce a much larger file. Would this be a good option?? Would it produce a good enough image?

What other options could I try?

Any help would be hugely appreciated. The arts organisation wants to get the printing done as soon as possible.

Thanks a million in advance.
Miguel

It would help if we could see the image.