Please help ...Should i buy pentax k100

kate051978

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hi guys I really want to start photography its always een a passion .My ? is this is it worth buyin the pentax k100 . Is it a gud camera and easy to use ??

Do you mean K1000? Old film camera?

edit:.. nevermind, you probably mean the K100D?

no bhop yes i mean the k100d

sorry bhop im new to buyin cameras i have the opportunity to purchase 1 for 200 dollars n i tryin to find out is it worth it ????

sorry bhop im new to buyin cameras i have the opportunity to purchase 1 for 200 dollars n i tryin to find out is it worth it ????

Well, i'm a Nikon shooter, but i'll try to help. It seems the k100d came out in 2006. That's a while by dslr standards, however, in its time it seemed to get pretty good reviews. I still have my D70 that came out around the same time and it still gives good results, so there's no reason the k100 wouldn't IMO.. you'd have some limitations that modern cameras won't have, like high iso noise, but any camera from that era would be that way. I think if it comes with a lens, then 200 is a good price. Try it out first if you can to see if you like how it feels in your hand.

I had the opportunity to use the K100 for about 45 minutes today. For most entry-level DSLRs I have used they have been low on dials and buttons, like the Pentaxt, but still remain fairly intuative and relatively easy to use . Unfortunately the K100 wasn't easy to use for me, I was fairly enthusiastic at first, I passed up the familiar Canon and Nikons to try the Pentax for the novelty of it.

I don't think I got more than 6 decent exposures. I think I've just about grasped exposure well enough to be able to get a correct looking image, for some reason I found this impossible with the K100. What's even more ridiculous is I was in Av so it requires no effort. I had to constantly play with the exposure bias to try and get a good exposure.