Polarising Filter

That's why I walk around with my polarized sun glasses and constantly tilt my head 90 degree's to either side ... yes, other people observing me may think I am really "odd".

I used one for the first time practicing waterfalls this weekend. Didn’t have a ND filter. The circular polarizer did allow a longer shutter speed. Not as long as the ND would have though.

From what I understand a polarizer blocks? filters? (not sure what describes it best) horizontal rays of light rather than vertical ones, but they actually move at various angles (which is why as you turn the polarizer more/different rays of light are blocked/filtered - I think, I'm a teacher but not a scientist working in a laboratory...! lol). I've understood it to mean that the horizontal rays coming at that angle directly into our eyes are the ones that cause more glare as we see it, that cause us to squint.

If I'm using a film rangefinder I'm not looking thru the lens so am seeing the existing light, not the filtered light coming into the camera (if I have a filter on the lens). But I know I've had to adjust exposure for the different/less/filtered light coming in to the camera. I haven't used a polarizer in awhile since the last time I went to a lake near me I was shooting Polaroids. (And yes, polarizing light technology had something to do with inventing Polaroids but I'd need a refresher on Edwin Land to remember what it was!)

I've used a circular one and it's just like RVT1K described, when you turn it you'll see the effect as you're looking thru the viewfinder and thru the lens. I haven't used one with my digital camera, and don't use one often, just sometimes shooting B&W film (with mechanical not auto film cameras) on sunny days near a lake etc. I don't often use lens hoods either but I can see why you can't when you've got to turn/rotate a circular polarizer.