Polaroid Question.

justy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I just decided to try out making a pinhole polaroid and i have a question about polaroid film. It seems that the way I made mine the film will only eject if i take out the film and put it back in, like when you put in a fresh pack and the black card gets ejected, same thing happens with the film. However when I take the film out will all the other film be exposed and ruined? I dont feel like spending 25 dollars to find out maybe someone knows. Any help would be wonderful, thanks.

If you're using a film pack, then the black card which protects the film is indeed ejected at the start when you load the pack. You don't mention what camera you're using, so I'm guessing it's a model that takes a 600 type of film pack. I'm no pinhole expert, but without putting the entire camera in a changing bag to pull out exposed prints one by one, you would indeed expose all the film and ruin it.

Someone with more experience might weigh in here. :)

i had to remove the shutter or else i couldnt have my own exposure time. But now the photo wont eject on its own. So i have to remove and reinsert the cartridge. its a polaroid spirit camera.

Exactly, the problem with treating pack film like it's sheet film is that you have to eject it through the rollers of the camera to break the dye pods. Otherwise there will be no development.

If there is such a thing as a pinhole camera with a Polaroid back, then you'd be in business. ;) But I'm not sure instant film is made for pinhole exposures. All instant films have to pass through something to evenly break and distribute the dye pods. They are not made for individual tray development. Again, I know next to nothing about pinhole photography, but I'm not sure your setup will work. ?

I've made upwards of a hundred of the pull apart kind.