MBPhotography

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.monicablancophotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I am a newborn and child photographer that shoots on location, which means most of the time I am at the client's house. I usually like to shoot with natural lighting and the natural atmosphere of the house using props and locations in the house to make the pictures more personalized to each child, but I am finding that not all houses I go to make this very easy. I recently did a newborn photo shoot at a house that made it extremely difficult to find any nice location with decent to take a picture. Because of this, I am looking to buy a portable background stand and some backdrops so that I can have a nice background and floor if the house I end up going to does not provide this for me.

That being said, I have never used a portable background stand or backdrops so I am kind of lost. I am not sure where the best place would be to purchase them.
For the backdrop, the problem I am having is that some houses do not have a lot of space for me to assemble a 9 foot background stand and this seems to be the smallest I can find. I also found a 5 foot one but that seems to be too small if I want the parents in the shot as well. I can't seem to find one in between those sizes. I also do not know if they are adjustable or not? The ones I have found have not specified.

For the backdrops, I have found some that I like but I would like some suggestions as to where to purchase them for a reasonable price. Also good brands and what you would suggest.

I could also use any tips and techniques for using these.

I'm sorry for all the questions and thank you in advance for your help!

I find a good muslin to be the best solution. That paired with a sturdy background stand and you are good to go. I have a black, white, and gray muslin and some gels.