portrait help

Skyeg

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
im a student doing cast portriats for a low budget school production. they want a white background and im just wondering what is usualy done to eliminte a shadow from the white background? right now i have a Nikon N80, coolpix 5700 and an SB-80 DX what kind of lights should i use for portraits on a budget? thanks for any advice you can give me

would that get rid of shadows?

Hide a light on the floor behind your subject, or use an overhead spot. It illuminates the the back drop. As said above, lighting should be arranged so that in comparison to proper exposure of your subject, the back ground should be overexposed.

Have the light source above the subject and don't put him/her too close to the back ground. If you can see the shadow, try telling the subject to step away from the background so that the shadow is lower and out of the frame.

Forgive me if this answer is way too simple for you, it's just that I'm thinking if these are head shots the problem is really easy. Considering the flash you have is only one on camera source, can you use a sync cord so that you can hold your flash directly above your camera about 18"? You see, that throws the light down in a flattering modeling on your subject while also casting the shadow directly behind and below your subject where you'll never see it. This assumes it's a relative close-up on your subject and that there's a white or light colored wall behind them. The idea with overexposing your background isn't bad, this just may be simpler to calculate as getting too bright of a background will haze your portrait.