Portrait shots - first timer advice required

David J Colbran

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello there,

Can you help me please. I'm relatively new to photography and have been asked to take some portrait head shots for a company website. I have a camera and am fairly confident using it outside, and up to now have concentrated on candid street photography.

This is the first time I'm going to be staging shots indoors and would really appreciate some expert help from you guys. I'm a little concerned about the lighting in the main, should I boost the natural lighting in the office where the shoots will take place? I've been told that you can get a small natural light which will help, but I don't know which one to go for.

Also what should I use as a back drop? I'm tempted to just bring a white sheet and use that - is that sensible? Or should I not bother and throw the background out of focus / do it post production using Photoshop.

Any advice to a newbie would be brilliant - this will be only my second photographic sale, and I am really keen to do a great and professional job.

Thanks in advance,

David

I can only comment on the background thing as I'm still a little confused about the best kind of lighting for any given subject. But I would say it's up to either you or your clients. While a white background may well look pleasant, it may better serve the purpose of the company to have a little bit of their workplace, be it in focus or not, in the back of the image. A mildly blurred office scene for example behind your main subject could give it the company feel. I have seen this before on TV News here in the UK, they place a frosted sheet of glass behind the news readers and in front of the news office, this gives the effect of an office environment without detracting too much from the main subject of the photo.

However it is at your or the companies discretion :)

Hope i've been of help.

Cheers Scurra,