Possible problems with lens or camera- how do I know?

gen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a Nikon D200 that I have had for 3 yrs. I shoot a lot of action (sports) photos using an older 80-200 (pre digital) nikon lens, the lens does not have VR. I had a lot of trouble getting good shots during the football season, shots that normally would be crystal clear were fuzzy...... yesterday I took the lens out to get some senior portraits of my son, and ALL the photos are fuzzy. I am not good at all the manual settings, but I even played around with a lot of those and still couldn't get any clear shots. I KNOW what this lens is capable of, and I do not know what is wrong. Then on the way home I had the "revelation" of wondering if it could possible be a battery issue. The battery is 3 yrs old, and I recently purchased a new one as backup, but I wondered if the old battery was "weak" and not supplying enough power for the lens to focus fast enough. Does this sound logical? or do I have a problem with the lens? or the camera? and how do I know WHICH one is the problem. Track and softball seasons will be here soon and I need to be able to get good clear shots of my kids. Plus I have a friend wanting me to take wedding pics, but I am scared to committ if I have a possible problem with my equipment!! I would appreciate any suggestions..... I am two hours from the nearest camera shop - and I am not sure if they can help me or if I would have to send to Nikon.

Thanks!
Gen

Are you able to get a sharp, test image from the lens focussing it manually?

I didn't think to try that until late yesterday..... we were already losing a LOT of light, and I wasn't successful in focusing manually, but my visibility at that point was almost zero. I will try manually focusing today after work. What will that tell me? that it is the battery? or another issue? I will also try the new battery this afternoon if weather permits.
Thanks