Posting photos and rights

rob91

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I didn't see this covered in the faq, nor can I find a terms of service, but by posting photos on this site - either by linking or uploading in a post - are we giving away any of our rights regarding the photos? Does ThePhotoForum or vbulletin attain any rights on our work?

I'm fairly certain, at least I hope I am, that the answer to my question is no, our rights remain intact, I would just like a clear answer before I begin posting photos.

C'mon, 19 views and nothing? I know someone here must know the answer.

I am a noob here and was wondering the same thing. I searched Copywrite and looked through it, it might help you a little...

I could be wrong but I would imagine it would go something like this:

We at thephotoforum.com respect the copyrights of artists over their work, and we do not require nor claim any copyright over material submitted to/displayed on TPF -- we have no interest in doing so. However we must require a worldwide, non-exclusive right to use and display your submission. That is to say, we must be allowed to exhibit your work in public across the Internet, but at the same time, even though you license these exhibition rights to us, you also retain those rights yourself and are free to grant similar permissions or licenses for other users or sites to exhibit the work as well.

Because of this, we must furthermore require that you are the copyright holder (i.e. creator) of the work you submit to TPF. We cannot accept any submissions which are not your creation and copyright, or which otherwise violate the copyrights held by other artists over the work in question.

TPF subscribes to the various American and International Laws on Copyright.
Copyright, unless agreed by contract, remains with the originator.
Posting your work here is not a waiver of these rights, either explicitly or implicitly.