PPI problem

KAmbrose

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So, Im not only new to this forum Im also new with photography. But im learnign as I go as best as I can. Im entering into a photography contest for a magazine and Ill be honest for the last 2 months Ive been staring at the rules almost cross eyed because I simply dont udnerstand any of it lol. I foiund most of my answers thru trial and error and others by asking around. But now im officially stuck.

The rules say High Res (400 ppi) TIFF images, measuring 20 inches on the longest side.

Well I converted my Jpegs to TIFFs (easy), with Photoshop Elements 5.0. But im looking at the bar near the bottom of the program and it says:

10.24 inches x 7.68 inches (300 ppi). THeres a thing where you can edit the image size and PPI. I changed it to 20 inches x 26 inches (400PPI) but it looked.. weird. I dont maybe its because im looking at it on my computer screen and its magnified? What do you think? Sorry long winded I know, just trying to give the facts.

Anyway is an image thats 20 inches on the longest side and 400 PPI unheard of? Or is that a usual formula? If anyone can answer this.. SOON it'd be appreciated... If you even understand what Im asking lol. Sorry, again.

Well from the little knowledge I have I know that by doing what you did you stretched the image. Is the photo you edited a full size image straight from the camera? If so your camera probably isn't good enough. What are you using?

what is the maximum pixels your camera does?

if it does for example 4000 pixels on the longest side, then that is 4000 pixels per 20 inches if you print it with 20 inches on the longest side.

4000 pixels per 20 inches translates into a pixel density of 4000/20=200 pixels per inch. only very few digital SLRs produce such a pixel resolution, not to talk of twice the number (400ppi with 20 inches).