Practicing with natural light. C&C

TrolleySwag

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
I'm pretty new to all this, about 2 months, 2 weeks trying to improve. This is my daughter and some impromptu shots I thought might turn out good.

6d & 50mm 1.8
Forgot the other settings. And can't find the other pics on my phone.

uploadfromtaptalk1437763326500.jpg

uploadfromtaptalk1437763333997.jpg

uploadfromtaptalk1437763338034.jpg

Next on my list of toys is a 5in1 reflector kit. The cheep neewer on amazon any good?

The second two are nice. I like the b&w conversion. The last one may be a little underexposed but not too bad for me.

The first one has some issues with blown out spots and the dappled light on her face.

3 seems underexposed probably because that's how I remembered it in my room, it was dark. Also I'm not were I want to be with the editing and when I went to lighten it it didn't real look right to me, I think I may have over processed it. And just a click of the B&W made it look good.

I try for brighter shots but darker seems to look better, any tips or YouTube vids to help?

Thanks.

1 was the day I started to play with natural light, I did my best on the bright spots with ACDSEE Pro.

Any way to have the light spots but not as harsh?

TrolleySwag said:
1 was the day I started to play with natural light, I did my best on the bright spots with ACDSEE Pro.

Any way to have the light spots but not as harsh?

Yes, there is a way: the shadowed areas need to be "lifted up" closer in exposure value to the highlighted areas. The easiest way to do that is a very large white bedsheet type reflector, which will lighten up the shadows, so that the exposure is closer to the exposure for the bright, dappled light spots. This looks pleasing, and natural, and is easy to preview. The second way is adding flash fill-in, which is a little trickier, but not much, at least when working in dimmer lighting conditions, and with high-grade flash units.