Pricing and licensing question

Younghappy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there I signed up here just to get some advice on pricing and licencing. I'm an amateur hobbyist landscape/nature photographer and I shoot for my own pleasure and not specifically to sell. I upload my photographs to various online platforms such as 500px and deviantart and through these, I get occasional minor requests for the use of my images and I've made some money from a few of these in the past

This week I have been contacted by the Production and Resource Manager for the Singapore Branch of Holmes & Marchant, a major brand design consultancy who have worked with many multinational consumer products and companies. Clearly a big player, so I want to get a fair deal out of this.
Details of what they want:

"For the Loch image to use on packaging, the following details in terms of purchase:

1. What is the cost to purchase the image:We want to own the image
  2. What is the cost to purchase the image rights for a certain period of time
With regards to purchasing the image for a certain period of time, the details are as follows:

• Period: 3 years
  • Usage: on packaging and communication
  • Geography: India"

So I have been given the option to sell the image to them outright or to licence it to them for three years for use in India for packaging and "communication" (kinda vague, huh?).

I have been reading around forums and websites like this to get an idea for pricing and I've played with some of the fee calculators too but most of examples I have come across so far are of photographers who have been commissioned to take photos for a project. Obviously they can factor in their labour and production costs into the fee. But my case is different as I have already taken the picture and I have been approached about it afterwards. I'm essentially asking for a ballpark figure for the basic usage rate.